My neighbourhood-Marks on the wall

When I was in college, Pamela Heckel came for one semester to teach photography.  I enjoyed her class very much and something must have stuck since I am still taking photographs today.  At the time she was finishing her Master’s at SCAD and her thesis project was on “Marks People Make”.  Ever since seeing her study that thesis, I have been more observant of the marks people make.  I’m drawn to photographing them myself and wish I could have seen Pam’s final exhibit in person. She now has a portraiture business and has loads of great shots of her boys on her blog.

I took this photograph while looking for texture.  It was the marks scraped into the plaster that initially drew me to this image, but it is the balance of the geometric shapes that keeps me coming back for another look.

